What’s the Buzz? Curation.

I was reading this article on “Cyberspace When You’re Dead” and not long after stumbled upon this article, featured on FastCompany, about Content Curation. Both articles mention the various contents, identities, profiles and information that are posted daily on the web, the first mainly focusing on content created by “a person” (and what happens with all that information if you were to pass away – it’s a very interesting read which I highly recommend doing), the latter focusing on the whole web as a neverending platform where content more than ever needs to be organized, structured and adapted to individual needs. Basically, a fresher and newer approach to user accessibility, with a clear need for more human interaction and less algorithms.

(Via FastCompany)

It got me to thinking – “Curation”, I’ve been hearing that term evermore increasingly in the last few months. I think – if I remember well – the first time it was brought to my attention at the DotConf , when Mark Little introduced it as a tool that was going to be used on Storyful. He saw it as a process of evolving from search into discover – and the idea of creating a community of storytellers, who will participate in finding, telling and sharing the stories that are happening.

I’m interested now – nay: fascinated – by this word, curation, and what it has in store for us in 2011. I presume that firstly spelling correctors won’t tell you anymore that it’s spelled wrongly… I wasn’t going to blog about it tonight, as I thought it deserved a much more researched post, but my excitement got the better of me. I will, however, look into it more deeply and accurately,  seeing that after a quick TweetDeck search (beat that Google for giving me lousy results!) Mashable published a post yesterday called “4 Promising Curation Tools“.

I’m curious to find out who is curating, what are they collecting, which methods are being used, what looks promising and what doesn’t and how it’s going to change the way we browse, search, read and bookmark. Another interesting sideline is community curation – collaborative efforts, in design, art, writing and other industries – where content is decided in order of most popular, relevant or correct. If I’m not mistaken, I think even the good old Facebook Like Button can be brought into that category, or the “I like it” button on StumbleUpon, as they allow for us, the community, to curate the web to our own liking, as we please it to be.

Really excited about this now!

More to follow…

2 thoughts on “What’s the Buzz? Curation.

  1. Micah Vandegrift says:

    Hi! To answer some of your questions quickly… I am curating articles, tweets, and websites focused around 2-3 professional areas of interest to me (ebooks, digital cultural heritage, and music). Curation and the web apps that facilitate it gives me the ability to weed out the overload and concentrate on the content that is absolutely, most relevant to my own knowledge building needs. I have Trunk.ly and Pinboard set up to grab all my favorited links, starred tweets, etc (top level general curation) and use Curated.by for more specific, deliberate focused content. I think we can agree that bookmarking is no longer the correct term for this type of work – it is data building.

    Community curation will be an extraordinary tool, and I plan to use it to crowdsource knowledge in a shared space. The real value of all of this will be when curated materials can be indexed and full-text searched as a database.

    1. sNarah says:

      Hi Micah – thanks for dropping by! I think most of us, at a personal level, curate (organize, structure) how we interact and read online. I think you’re spot on with “data-building” to suit individual needs. It will be interesting to see what changes will emerge from a community point of view and which information will be curated by organizations. I reckon it still needs a lot of developing for creating the right tools, but it’s definite going in the right direction!

Leave a Reply

