(Dis)Like

It’s amazing how the terms “Like” and “Dislike” have gained such a broad use in modern language, especially considering they derive from the social network Facebook. They are omnipresent on the internet and are even used in conversation. How handy would it be to be able to use it on a daily basis without sounding weird…

I just had a got a job promotion and a big fat raise! <Like>

I’m afraid we’ll have to make you redundant. <Dislike>

There is a 50% discount on these pretty polka-dot shoes. <Like><Like><Like>

This website is currently unavailable. Please check the address and ensure you connection is working. <Dislike>

I find the embedded Facebook Like button particularly handy when browsing the internet and reading through blogs. Sometimes I really enjoyed the post but don’t feel the need to comment as I feel that I have nothing useful to contribute. So, thank heavens, there’s the little familiar button on the bottom of the page! Score! That way, I am able to show my appreciation for the writer and the article, without ‘spamming’ the comment section stating “I really enjoyed this post”. Alas, at the moment my WordPress.com blog doesn’t incorporate the Like Button yet as I can’t seem to figure out properly how to add it without converting to a proper domain name. (If you know how to – please let me know in the comment section!).

Until shouting “Like” and “Dislike” at random in conversations are widely accepted, I have found the perfect little gizmo to keep myself entertained. Behold, the (Dis)Like Stamps! With thanks to Phil O’Kane for pointing them out to me and Nation for the swift delivery! If you want them too, they are for sale here!

Sending Mixtapes to Belgium:
Cabernet Sauvignon from Chile: <Like>
Invoices, no like that much.
Holidaying TD's: <Dislike>
6 thoughts on “(Dis)Like

  1. Darren says:

    I can think of a few people I’d like to stamp on their forehead with dislike but that’s the evil side of me. It’s amazing how quickly these things become the norm in our lives. I think the like button only appeared last year??

  2. Tommy says:

    Re: usage – I like like but dislike dislike.

    Thoughts of people actually calling ‘like’ in the middle of conversations is well funny really.

  3. sNarah says:

    Thanks for the comments guys… I was using the Dislike stamp on people but they didn’t seem to appreciate the gesture! Darren, a very true statement indeed – it’s fascinating to see how quickly some online applications become “standards” in daily life in a very short time.

Leave a Reply

